I like to keep an eye on activity on my blog, website and Facebook page.  It helps me get a sense of what people are interested in, and really helps me to direct my content for future posts.Petal envelope 3 Petal envelope 2 Petal  envelope 1

There is a blog post I did in 2011 that still consistently gets hits every single day.  Yes.  Every.  Single.  Day.  For nearly two years.  What is this spectacularly interesting post?  It was a simple little photo tutorial on how to make a petal card.  Who could have known such a simple topic would gain such consistent popularity?Step 7

I enjoy creating mail art and exchanging it with friends and contacts all over the world.  There is something about the combination that thrills me:  The ephemeral nature of the mail art; the quality added to the art by handling and transit through the postal system; the idea of the interest and pleasure it brings as it passes hand to hand across the world; and the pleasure of contact and exchange engendered when the art reaches its destination.Mail art low res

I long since moved beyond prosaic mail art on commercially made envelopes.  My horizons expanded when I began to make my own packages and envelopes for mail art and to share with friends and family.  As this little blog post has garnered so much interest over such a long period, I thought it was high time I expanded the topic into a video tutorial to share with you.   And so, my dears, here it is at last:  a full length video tutorial on making your own envelopes and packages for mail art and other purposes.  I hope you enjoy it!

Dea Fischer snapshot 1I am honoured and pleased to be a Spotlight Artist for Art Camp for Women this month.   Through the course of this year, Art Camp will be spotlighting several artists in their newsletter and blog, and I hope you will keep in touch with them to meet some of the other great artists they will be bringing your way.

Supply-Collage-Header-2

Art Camp for Women is the only art retreat I have  encountered that genuinely embraces the true nature of a ‘retreat’ – complete, delightful immersion for mind and spirit; an opportunity to engage, share and connect with people who live fully through their creative spirit and provide you with an opportunity to do the same.  This year, I am excited to tell you that Art Camp for Women is giving you an opportunity to win a free camp registration.  What on earth are you waiting for?

Win-A-Free-Camp-259x300

