Hi, I’m Dea Fischer.  Welcome to my place! 

Image courtesy of Michael Buckley

It is so nice to welcome you to my blog.  This weekend, we are celebrating the excitement of the upcoming CREATE Mixed Media Retreat in Irvine, California with a chance to meet many of the instructors who will be teaching workshops there.  The list of blog hop participants is at the bottom of this page, and I do hope you will hop around and visit these wonderful artists to see what they are up to.  I’ve got a fun little giveaway too, so keep reading!

Among busy roles as a wife and mother, and full time work for a public library, I’m a busy book- and mixed media artist.  I live and work in the breathtaking Canadian Rockies.   The world is quite a  fascinating place to me, and I like to explore its themes through my work.  The mysteries of the natural world provide me with continual inspiration.  I work across disciplines, including collage and photography, but artist’s books are my chief form of expression.  The possibilities are absolutely endless, and I am never short of ideas to convey my world through the pages of a book.  When I’m not in a fury of creation in my studio, I enjoy lighting the fire of creativity in others and engaging my community in acts of random creation.

Image courtesy of Richard Berry.

Nowadays, I am privileged to be able to share my enthusiasm for everything associated with mixed media art and book arts through Cloth Paper Scissors magazine, CPS Studios magazine and Interweave’s new emag Art Journalling Exposed.  The editorial team of Cloth Paper Scissors is a pretty fabulously talented and organised group of kindred spirits who are as thirsty for inspiration as the rest of us.  They were kind enough to invite me to Loveland, CO this winter to record a CPS Workshops DVD:  Handmade Book Essentials.  There’s a really nice interview here with Jenn Mason, and a clip from the DVD, if you would like to check it out.  Want to win a free copy of my DVD??  Take a look at my course listings further down and find out how you can win one.

One of the absolutely best ways I’ve ever enjoyed to fill me with inspiration has been to attend a CREATE Mixed Media Retreat.  Again in 2012, I’ll be travelling down from Canada to Irvine, California to share with the truly wonderful array of mixed media artists of all kinds in the luscious selection of fantastic workshops on offer this year.  I will be teaching a few workshops myself, including co-teaching with my dear friend Tiffany Teske.  Here is some of what I had to say about the experience in 2011:

“The experience of CREATE was unbelievable.  So many skilled artists full to brimming with information, ideas and techniques to share, it was often difficult to distinguish teacher from pupil.  We became equals sharing together.  I find the experience of working in such an environment incredibly stimulating.  Everywhere you look, there are wonderful things going on, a positive feast of creations to look at and pore over and discover.  So many exclamations rang through those rooms of ‘How did you do that!?” and “Wow, that’s amazing!”  I was inspired, honoured and thrilled with the sharing and exchanging that went on during the workshops I attended and taught.”

Here’s a run-down of the sessions I’ll be teaching.  I hope you will come and immerse yourself.  You will be so glad you did!  If you do, make sure you look me up and say hi. . . .   The first person to read this post and then come and say hi to me at CREATE Irvine will receive a copy of my DVD!

CREATE Mixed Media Retreat, Irvine, California,
May 30 – June 3, 2012

Just One Sheet of Paper
Join book artist Dea Fischer to learn how to transform a single sheet of paper into a simple and beautiful artist’s book. No needles, no thread and no glue required!  We will paint, decorate and embellish paper and add text or images to create a book form that you can use again and again.

Star Light, Star Bright:  The Chinese Star Book
Join book artist Dea Fischer to learn how to create her most intriguing and perennially popular book:  The Chinese Star Book.  The Chinese star book is an apparently complex, multi-layered book form that has many possible uses. It can be experienced in the hand like any other book, or opened out to a dramatic circular display.

Creating the Vision: Printing and Transferring Your Images (co-teaching with Tiffany Teske)
You’ve mastered the photography, you’ve created images you love.  Deepen your layers of creative engagement by learning to incorporate images of your own creation into your mixed media artwork.  Join Tiffany Teske and Dea Fischer to explore fascinating image printing and transfer techniques that can be tricky to master effectively. You will create cyanotype or ‘sun’ prints from negatives, and practice making gel medium skins and transfers, blender pen transfers, encaustic and heat transfers.  You will produce several pieces during this workshop that you can take away to use in your work.

Photos courtesy of Virginia Jaquez

We are enjoying a blog hop with many of the participating instructors from CREATE Irvine this weekend.  Here are the participants, and I do hope you will stop by and visit with them all for temptation galore!  Have fun, and I hope to meet you in California.  Don’t forget, I’ll be giving away a copy of my DVD to the first blog-hopper to find me . . . .

The Create Mixed Media Retreat’s Meet the Instructors Blog Celebration Weekend:

And Cloth Paper Scissors Editor Jenn Mason!