The new Interweave title is out!  Cloth Paper Scissors’ new eMag “Art Journaling Exposed” is now available for download.  The inaugural edition of this wonderful new interactive product features my article on making some quick and easy travel journals. 
I travel quite alot, and it is an ongoing effort for me to continually reduce the amount of luggage space I use.  I am always caught up in difficult choices and decisions about what to take, and what to leave out.  Sometimes, I get a little too ruthless with my editing and find myself in wonderful, beautiful and memory-filled locations . . . . without any art supplies!

A few years ago, I was traveling to California for a family wedding, and, among wedding gifts and extra clothes and shoes, there was absolutely no room to spare.  I reluctantly left my art journal at home.  Yet the trip was so rich in memories, special family times and sharing, and I just had to do something to capture it all.  It was on that trip, completely without journal or materials, that I found myself looking with a very different eye at the maps, brochures, ephemera and postcards I had collected throughout the trip.  I had always collected such materials as something I would use later to add to the memory album.  On this trip, there was so much I wanted to hold to my heart and sear into my memory, so many moments that would be lost or slip away if I waited to record them some weeks or months after I got home.   I found myself taking a second look at these materials, and began to see them as fundamental materials I could use to create a travel journal.  The memory value became richly multi-layered.  Everything from the underlying structure through all collage elements, binding materials and trims originated from my trip.  There was a freshness and immediacy to journaling in this way that I found exciting and fun.  Working this way, as I went along, I started to create daily pages of the trip on 5 x 7″ postcards, journaling on the back of some of the postcards, collaging on others.   By the time I got home, I had quite a number of pages already completed, and enough material to create several more.  I did the painting, drawing and writing layers I wanted to add when I got home, using extracts from my written journal.  Then, I bound them all together into the concertina flag book you can see in Art Journaling Exposed.

I had so much fun recording the video clips for you when I was filming at Interweave’s studios in Colorado last December.  It is such a cool thing to be able to talk to you personally and demonstrate how to make these things right there in the magazine.  It puts me in mind of the Daily Prophet newspaper in Harry Potter!  The new eMag is chock full of fantastic inspiration from many of your favourite authors, delivered in a truly value-added way.  It is exciting to enjoy the information in this way.  It’s like attending a mini version of a CREATE retreat right on your own computer.  The download is available for both Mac and PC, and as an app for iPad.

All your favourite authors are participating in a blog hop this weekend.  I hope you’ll stop on by and visit with my friends, and check out what’s going on.  Enjoy the blog hop, and we hope you will enjoy this inspirational new title too!  Don’t forget, I will be teaching three workshops at CREATE in Irvine, California, and four workshops at CREATE in Lisle, Illinois.  I look forward to seeing you!

With very best wishes

Dea Fischer

Blog Roll:

Julie Fei-Fan Balzer

Traci Bautista

Jane Davenport

Jacqueline Newbold

Jennifer Osborn

Joanne Sharpe

Melanie Testa

Diana Trout

and Outside the Box with Jenn:

