photo courtesy of Michael Buckley 2010

Book Artist Dea Fischer (photo courtesy of Michael Buckley 2010)

 I am so pleased and excited to have been invited to teach at the CREATE Mixed Media Retreat in Southern California again May 30-June 3 2012.  Hosted by Interweave’s Cloth Paper Scissors and Quilting Arts magazines, the retreat was like wandering into a mixed media artist’s dream and never wanting to wake up. My experience at the CREATE Mixed Media Retreat in Costa Mesa, California last year was huge.  It was the first time I had ventured outside my province (let alone my country!) to teach the subject so dear to my heart:  Book Arts.  I had never attended such an intense mixed media conference experience before, and I was utterly blown away to be surrounded by people who think like I do, who are interested in the (admittedly sometimes odd) things I am interested in, who are as hungry to try new projects and new techniques as I am.  I made new friends there and have gone on over the ensuing year to complete some other projects for Interweave and to build on those friendships.

With Pam Carriker at CREATE Costa Mesa, 2011

And so, once again this late Spring, I will venture down to California to join other mixed media artists in this incredible creative soup.  Only this time, it will be different.  I will be teaching book arts again, never fear.  You will have the opportunity to learn a painted and folded structure, or to spend a day learning how to construct my signature Star Book.  But in 2012, I won’t make the trip alone.  This time, I will be accompanied by my dear friend and colleague Tiffany Teske.  We will co-teach a workshop on image transfer that I am so excited to share with you! 

Tiffany is a multi-disciplinary artist like myself, a gifted photographer with an amazing mixed-media sense and seemingly unending technical prowess and enthusiasm, who shares my love of all things low-tech in the photography world.  To have the opportunity to share California with my friend, and to share this enriching mixed media retreat experience with her is so exciting.  We have already agreed a day on the Pacific Coast Highway with our Holga, Lomo and other low-tech cameras for a feast of photography as part of the deal.  You may be sure the results will be turning up in our work soon after our return to Canada.

copyright Dea Fischer 2011

Bookings are open for the CREATE Mixed Media Retreat in Irvine, California, so I hope you will cruise on over and check out the many inspiring workshops you can take.  I will be teaching:

  • Creating the Vision: Printing and Transferring Your Images (6 hours) (Friday) (co-teaching with Tiffany)
  • Star Light, Star Bright: The Chinese Star Book (6 hours) (Saturday)
  • Just One Sheet of Paper (3 hours) (Saturday evening)

Tiffany will be teaching:

  • Creating the Vision: Printing and Transferring Your Images (6 hours) (Friday) (co-teaching with me)
  • Fuji Emulsion Lifts (3 hours) (Saturday evening)
  • Fuji Image Transfers (3 hours) (Sunday morning)

We hope we’ll get to see you there!

