And so at last, the time to gather my tools and head to California for the CREATE Mixed Media Retreat is upon me.  The excitement suddenly hit me at a visceral level last night, and I couldn’t sleep for all the ideas and plans and things to remember teeming my thoughts.  My suitcase is mostly packed, final materials are being prepped this weekend and then I’m off for a delightful week back in my home of Southern California.

With my excitement building to fever pitch for California, it is hard to have any thought for what lies beyond.  However, not long after my return (ugly thought!) from California, Canmore will be thick in the throes of the annual artsPeak Festival of the Arts.  This amazing event is not to be missed, and I encourage you to check out the link for the rich variety of events that will be going on over those days:  http://www.artspeakcanmore.com/  As always, I will be running one of the free public workshops in the artZone.  This year, we are going to do mail art for a bit of fun, so I hope you will make sure you are in town over June 16, 17 & 18 to take in these wonderful exhibitions, art fair and events.

I’m delighted to tell you that one event that had it’s inception for artsPeak last year is set to return.  Dear to my heart as you might expect it to be, Meg Nicks and Paul Goutiere of Sunny Raven Gallery are calling for submissions again this year for the “Art of the Book” show.   Their call last year resulted in a beautiful and wonderful array of artist’s books on display in the Gallery that was much enjoyed by all.  The call for submissions is attached, I’ll certainly be entering and I hope to see some work from you! Adios, my friends.  I’ll report back on the CREATE Costa Mesa Mixed Media Retreat when I return.

