Bookings for the 2011 CREATE Mixed Media Retreat in Costa Mesa, California are open and filling up.  This is an incredible long-weekend opportunity to immerse yourself in a series of in-depth workshops on a variety of mixed media techniques.  You will enjoy the beautiful Hilton Orange County in Costa Mesa as our venue, in the company of many like-minded individuals!  There’s a wonderful selection of workshops to choose from, and my only regret is that I can’t attend them all! 

I will be teaching two book arts workshops, on May 20 and 21.  On Friday, I will be teaching a six-hour workshop called “Not a Needle in Sight”, on creating book forms that don’t involve any stitching.  I find some of my students are a little daunted by the stitching involved in a book block, and I like to show them that it is possible to create some wonderful, beautiful and lasting artist’s book forms without having to do any stitching at all.  We’ll make two different forms during the workshop, including some work on the content and decoration of the books.  Look at my blog from yesterday for a tantalising glimpse of one of the concertina forms we will be creating. 

On Saturday, I will be teaching a six-hour workshop called “You-Can-Do-It Stitched Bindings”.   During the workshop, I’ll provide step-by-step guidance to help you walk away with two very beautiful and very different stitched artist’s book bindings for future journaling or artwork.

Long stitch binding

Do consider joining us, this will be a fabulous event!  You can view more details at
http://www.cvent.com/EVENTS/Info/Summary.aspx?e=8df45474-292a-464b-9544-df5919cbc630.  I hope to see you there!

