What feeds your muse?  I have come to accept about myself that I work best when I’m vibrating at a particularly high frequency.  I think it’s the deadline phenomenon.  There is something about pushing against a deadline that raises my frequency to a level only dogs can hear and drives me to creative heights.  But the creative muse feeds on emotional and spiritual energy.  Sometimes in our lives, emotional and spiritual energy is consumed by life’s events, or driven into an internal vortex of grief and sorrow.  Right now, I’m looking for how I can capture the vast emotional and spiritual energy swirling around inside me and once again channel it toward expression in my work.  I have always turned away from my work when experiencing storms of emotion, for the nature of my work is meditative, methodical and meticulous.  Storming emotions block the flow for that type of work.  Perhaps painting to music, or allowing my emotions to drive my brush in creating painted papers a la Eric Carle that I can use as backgrounds might help undam the flow.  But will I want to use the products if they speak to me constantly of negative emotions?  I tend to surround myself with positivity, and the image of the tortured artist has never been one I ascribe to.  Maybe I should unleash the flow and then sell the products on eBay so I don’t have to look at them  . . . . .

http://www.wikihow.com/Act-Like-a-Tortured-Artist

